Prayer - Reprise LP

Prayer - Reprise LP

Grade 10

  • Secure Payment


New Prayer on Grade 10. No drums, no pads, no breaks, just piano. Stunning.

Reprise is a body of piano work exploring the idea of thematic repetition and development, and the intimacy of the solo instrument that allows these ideas to be driven forward. The piano offers an environment in which the building pillars of music - melody, harmony, texture, and rhythm can be presented in a raw form, free from heavy processing, and throughout the work I was keen to explore them in a way that shows the instrument as vessel for delivering a wall of sound - Not just summed up by its elegance, but also in part defined by its imperfections.

The opening track ‘Mourning’ juxtaposes floating scalic passages with harsh arpeggio sforzandos, before a resting point is found in ‘Memory Edits’, which is based around the idea of build up and then sudden change. The third track ‘Silhouette’ consists entirely of arpeggios, picking up the pace before leading in to ‘Intention’ which offers further restlessness. The fifth track ‘Fall' begins with a softly played passage which is repeated throughout the piece at a more severe dynamic, showcasing how interpretation can be the driving factor for the piano. Track number six ‘Decay’ once again builds up a rapid pace, before the final, and title track ‘Reprise’ offers reflection on the music that has proceeded it, piecing together and concluding the work as a whole.

Label: Grade 10 International

Cat No: GTi015

Format: 12" Vinyl LP in hand screen printed sleeve w/ download code

Released: 15th May 2020

Genre: Classical Piano / Modern Classical


A1. Mourning

A2. Memory Edits

A3. Silhouette

A4. Intention

B1. Fall

B2. Decay

B3. Reprise



These items will only be shipped to you on or after the official release date. Please note any orders containing pre-order items won't be shipped until all items are available, so please order this separately to avoid delays. Please remember that release dates are at the mercy of labels, distributors, and pressing plants and will change constantly.