Jef Gilson - Malagasy At Newport

Jef Gilson - Malagasy At Newport

Souffle Continu

  • Secure Payment


These collection of early seventies jazz tunes are straight out of the Parisian underground, The music cam together after Sylvin Marc, Ange "Zizi" Japhet, Del Rabenja, Gérard Rakotoarivony and Frank Raholison escaped the turmoil in Madagascar and found exile in Paris. There they had a chance meeting with Jef Gilson, an already established band leader, and together they created a new jazz sound. 

This is the first time this music has been presented in this form and it comes in a high quality sleeve and it is an incredible pressing. These are records to cherish and to get old with.

Label: Souffle Continu

Cat No: FFL068

Format: 180g 12" Vinyl LP w/ Booklet (Reissue)

Genre: Jazz / Contemporary Jazz

Released: 7th July 2021


A1. Newport Bounce

A2. Salegy Jef

A3. Solo Frank

A4. Buddah’s Vision

B1. Veloma Lava

B2. Valiha Del

B3. Requiem pour Django

B4. Dizzy 48

B5. ‘’1973’’


These items will only be shipped to you on or after the official release date. Please note any orders containing pre-order items won't be shipped until all items are available, so please order this separately to avoid delays. Please remember that release dates are at the mercy of labels, distributors, and pressing plants and will change constantly.