Yuji Toriyama - Choice Works 1982 - 1985

Yuji Toriyama - Choice Works 1982 - 1985

Time Capsule

  • Secure Payment


Label: Time Capsule

Cat No: TIME002

Format: 180g Vinyl. 45rpm Loud Cut. Liner notes & pictures on inner sleeve.


A1. Night Together

A2. Stranger In The Mirror

B1. Donna

B2. Maze

B3. Bay/Sky Provincetown 1977

An incredible collection of works from Japanese fusion guitarist Yuji Toriyama, recorded between 1982-85. Regarded as one of the pioneering Japanese fusionists alongside Hiroshi Sato, Ryo Kawasaki and Yasuaki Shimizu. Toriyama has not enjoyed as much recognition as his contemporary, after shunning a solo career in favour of pop and TV arrangements in the 90s and composing video games soundtracks like Street Fighter II and Final Fantasy XII.

Choice Works 1982-1985 represents his first reissue title, with Kay Suzuki compiling work from three rare albums to showcase the best of Toriyama’s sound, most appealing to modern ears.

“Yuji Toriyama is an unsung guitar hero in Japanese fusion. While there were so many talented Japanese guitarists in the 80s, Yuji’s production and arrangement in the era were very experimental and raw. I chose tracks that would somehow resonate with the feelings we have in 2019.” Kay Suzuki

Highly Recommended Listening.


These items will only be shipped to you on or after the official release date. Please note any orders containing pre-order items won't be shipped until all items are available, so please order this separately to avoid delays. Please remember that release dates are at the mercy of labels, distributors, and pressing plants and will change constantly.