Various Artists - One Night in Pelican: Afro Modern Dreams 1974-1977

Various Artists - One Night in Pelican: Afro Modern Dreams 1974-1977

Matsuli Music

  • Secure Payment


South African vinyl re-issue specialists Matsuli Music deliver some absolute gold and here we have another fine example. Nearly ten years in the making this double gatefold album journeys through jazz, funk, fusion and disco, detailing the incredible story and sounds behind the Soweto nightclub during the height of apartheid. With beautiful cover art by Zulu Bidi (of Batsumi fame) with unseen photographs, and liner notes by Kwanele Sosibo featuring interviews with key musicians, players and a former president of South Africa. A complete gem!

Label: Matsuli Music

Cat No: MM125 LP

Format: 2 x 12" Vinyl Compilation LP Gatefold

Genre: Jazz / Funk / African

Released: 6th December 2021


A1. Dick Khoza And The Afro Pedlars - Chapita

A2. Ensemble Of Rhythm And Art - Pelican Fantasy

A3. Spirits Rejoice - Sugar Pie

B1. Makhona Zonke Band- The Webb

B2. Abacothozi - Night In Pelican

C1. The Black Pages - There Goes

C2. The Headquarters - Moshate

C3. The Shyannes - Asso-Kam

D1. Almon Memela’s Soweto - Pelican City

D2. The Drive - I Have A Dream


These items will only be shipped to you on or after the official release date. Please note any orders containing pre-order items won't be shipped until all items are available, so please order this separately to avoid delays. Please remember that release dates are at the mercy of labels, distributors, and pressing plants and will change constantly.